You are here

Blog Posts

Spring in Virginia

Winter took a long time this year to loosen its grip—only five or six weeks ago we were shoveling snow—but we are currently enjoying a spectacular spring in Virginia. While this perfection lasts, we wanted to get some thoughts on spring in the Commonwealth from Ben Greenberg, photographer and author of Natural Virginia, a collection of his stunning panoramic photography.


Ritvo on Counting Sheep

Readers who enjoyed Nobel Cows and Hybrid Zebras by Harret Ritvo, the pioneering scholar in animals studies, will want to watch the video interview just posted on the Faculti web site. In it, Ritvo discusses the creation of this book and goes into fascinating detail about one of the essays collected in the book, "Counting Sheep in the English Lake District."


Preservation Award to Buildings of Vermont

Glenn Andres and Curtis Johnson have received a Preservation Award from the Preservation Trust of Vermont for their work on the recently published Buildings of Vermont volume.


Dolley Madison: The Fame Years

Rotunda's Dolley Madison Digital Edition, edited by Holly C. Shulman, has been updated with 158 new documents, 543 new and revised identifications of people, places, and terms, and two new editorial essays.


Texas Joins Archipedia

With the 2014 annual meeting in Austin just over a month away, we are happy to announce the addition of 1,319 building entries covering roughly half of the state of Texas to Rotunda's SAH Archipedia.


Additions to History of the Ratification

The digital edition of The Documentary History of the Ratification of the Constitution, published by our electronic imprint Rotunda, has just made two important updates to its content. With the addition of Volume 23 from the print series, the digital edition includes the complete New York content. We have also added Volume 24, which is the first volume of Rhode Island content.


FLOTUS Showdown

Greatest film of all time? Vertigo, according to the Sight and Sound poll. Greatest album? Sgt. Pepper, says Rolling Stone. Best college men's basketball team? AP has Syracuse at the top (for now). We live in an age of lists. While list-making is to a certain extent just a parlor game, as well as a handy way to sift through information overload, such a list can be a fairly reliable yardstick for fluctuations in reputation.

The Siena Research Institute periodically polls historians to assemble their rankings of the U. S. Presidents, but many people probably don't know that Siena also ranks the First Ladies. The latest edition of the First Ladies rankings has just been released, and it has inspired considerable commentary (including this CNN piece). In the rankings' top spot is Eleanor Roosevelt, who, apart from her famous marriage, was one of the great public figures of the twentieth century. In fourth place, almost exactly 200 years after she and her husband left the White House, is Dolley Madison, often credited with creating the role of the First Lady as we know it.


Vermont Authors on NPR

Buildings of Vermont coauthors Glenn Andres and Curtis Johnson appeared on Vermont Edition,  produced by public radio affiliate WVPR. You may listen to the broadcast on the WVPR web site.


The Unlikely Activist

The odds were against Ed Peeples growing up to be an activist who would inspire countless others. Raised in what he describes as a systematically racist South, Peeples transcended his roots to become a committed soldier in the Civil Rights Movement. This fascinating and unlikely story is the focus of his new memoir, Scalawag: A White Southerner's Journey through Segregation to Human Rights Activism. Peeples recently answered a few questions about his beginnings in activism and the changes he has seen over a half century.


Outstanding Academic Titles

At the American Library Association's Midwinter meeting, Choice magazine announced its complete list of Outstanding Academic Titles from the year just ended. Included on the list are two titles from our Rotunda electronic imprint: The Digital Temple and The Papers of Eliza Lucas Pinckney and Harriott Pinckney Horry.


Pages