You are here

Memoir & Autobiography


Journal of Emily Shore: Revised and Expanded

Emily Shore's journal is the unique self-representation of a prodigious young Victorian woman. From July 5, 1831, at the age of eleven, until June 24, 1839, two weeks before her death from consumption, Margaret Emily Shore recorded her reactions to the world around her. She wrote of... More


Memoirs on the Life and Travels of Thomas Hammond, 1748-1775

Thomas Hammond. Edited by George E. Boulukos

A lavishly illustrated manuscript from the eighteenth century now being published for the first time, Thomas Hammond's memoirs are a major discovery. Hammond was a self-educated but remarkably gifted writer with a knack for seizing unlikely opportunities for adventure. We follow this abandoned waif... More


You Come Too

Lesley Lee Francis. Foreword by Jay Parini

Robert Frost observed in his wife, Elinor, a desire to live "a life that goes rather poetically." The same could be said of many members of the Frost family, over several generations. In You Come Too, Frost’s granddaughter, Lesley Lee Francis, combines priceless personal memories and rigorous... More


Living on Wilderness Time

Melissa Walker

Melissa Walker set out on a journey that many women of her generation have mapped only in their dreams. Like many American chroniclers before her who have surrendered to the aimless pleasures of the road, Walker had no geographical destination in mind, but she did have two definite goals—one... More


Outside the Wire

Edited by Christine Dumaine Leche. Foreword by Brian Turner, author of "The Hurt Locker"

A riveting collection of thirty-eight narratives by American soldiers serving in Afghanistan, Outside the Wire offers a powerful evocation of everyday life in a war zone. Christine Dumaine Leche—a writing instructor who left her home and family to teach at Bagram Air Base and a forward operating... More


Steinbeck in Vietnam

John Steinbeck. Edited by Thomas E. Barden

Although his career continued for almost three decades after the 1939 publication of The Grapes of Wrath, John Steinbeck is still most closely associated with his Depression-era works of social struggle. But from Pearl Harbor on, he often wrote passionate accounts of America’s wars based on his own... More


Escaping God's Closet

Bernard Duncan Mayes

He survived a turbulent childhood in war-torn London, earned degrees with honors from Cambridge University, was ordained in the Church of England, became an Anglican worker-priest, and emigrated to the United States.He has been a prolific broadcaster for the BBC, helped organize the Public... More


A Small Boy and Others

Henry James. Edited by Peter Collister

Henry James was the final survivor of a remarkable family, and his memoir, written at the end of a long and tireless career, was prompted initially by the death of his "ideal Elder Brother," the psychologist and philosopher William James. A Small Boy and Others recounts the novelist’s earliest... More


Notes of a Son and Brother and The Middle Years

Henry James and Peter Collister

After a childhood divided between America and Europe, Henry James settled with his family in New England, first in what he regarded as an outpost of Europe, Newport, and later in Cambridge. The family letters (the initial inspiration for this autobiographical enterprise), many of which recount the... More


Nature Cure

Richard Mabey

Early in Nature Cure Richard Mabey returns continually to the swift, who in its spectacular migration may not touch down for well over a year. In Ted Hughes’s phrase, the reappearance of the swifts tells us that "the globe’s still working." When we encounter the author in the opening pages of this... More


Gods of Noonday

Elaine Neil Orr

The daughter of medical missionaries, Elaine Neil Orr was born in Nigeria in 1954, in the midst of the national movement that would lead to independence from Great Britain. But as she tells it in her captivating new memoir, Orr did not grow up as a stranger abroad; she was a girl at home—only half... More


Perfect Companionship

Ellen Glasgow. Edited by Pamela R. Matthews

The novels of Pulitzer Prize-winning author Ellen Glasgow ushered the South into the modern era, rejecting the typically romanticized approach for a cunningly observed realism. Glasgow’s originality of mind and abiding fascination with her native South are in abundant display in this new selection... More


The Letters of Christina Rossetti

Christina Rossetti. Edited by Antony H. Harrison

Christina Rossetti (1830–1894) has come to be considered one of the major poets--not just one of the major women poets—of the Victorian era, eclipsing her famous brother. Leading critics have demonstrated how studies of Rossetti’s work, her daily life, her relationships with the Pre-Raphaelites,... More


The Correspondence of William James

William James. Edited by Ignas K. Skrupskelis and Elizabeth M. Berkeley

This twelfth and final volume of The Correspondence of William James concludes the series of William James’s correspondence with family, friends, and colleagues that began with volume 4. The first three volumes were devoted to the letters exchanged between the brothers William and Henry James.... More


Beloved Boy

Henry James. Edited by Rosella Mamoli Zorzi

Already the subject of articles in the International Herald Tribune and the London Times, Beloved Boy is a remarkable collection of letters tracing Henry James’s fascination with and enduring devotion to a young Norwegian-American artist. James was already fifty-six when, visiting Rome in 1899, he... More


Journal of a Residence in Chile during the Year 1822, and a Voyage from Chile to Brazil

Edited by Jennifer Poole Hayward.

In 1821, Maria Dundas Graham sailed for South America on H.M.S. Doris, a ship sent to protect British mercantile interests in that volatile region. After her husband, the ship’s captain Thomas Graham, died en route, the newly widowed Maria Graham landed in Valparaíso, Chile. Resisting all efforts... More


The Correspondence of William James

William James. Edited by Ignas K. Skrupskelis and Elizabeth M. Berkeley

This eleventh volume of a projected twelve continues the series of William James’s correspondence with family, friends, and colleagues that began with volume 4. Consisting of some 500 letters, with an additional 650 letters calendared, volume 11 gives a complete accounting of James’s known... More


Randall Jarrell's Letters

Mary Jarrell. Edited by Mary Jarrell

In this expanded edition of Randall Jarrell's letters, his widow, Mary, has added letters from Jarrell to Peter Taylor, publication of which was withheld during Taylor's lifetime. Taylor was, along with Robert Lowell, Jarrell's oldest and closest friend, and the inclusion of these incomparable... More


A Single, Numberless Death

Nora Strejilevich. Translated by Cristina de la Torre with the collaboration of the author

Nora Strejilevich was a young woman when her brother and other family members and friends disappeared at the hands of the military junta that held power in Argentina from 1976 to 1983. Ostensibly part of a systematic campaign to eliminate left-wing terrorism, the violence perpetrated by the junta... More


The Correspondence of William James

William James. Edited by Ignas K. Skrupskelis and Elizabeth M. Berkeley

Consisting of some 572 letters, with another 460 calendared, this tenth volume in a projected series of twelve offers a complete accounting of William James’s known correspondence—with family, friends, and colleagues—from the beginning of 1902 through March 1905.For James these were hopeful years... More


The Correspondence of William James

William James. Edited by Ignas K. Skrupskelis and Elizabeth M. Berkeley

This ninth volume of a projected twelve continues the series of William James's correspondence with family, friends, and colleagues that was begun in Volume 4. Consisting of some 470 letters, with as many more calendared, it offers a complete accounting of James's known correspondence from July... More


The Correspondence of William James

William James. Edited by Ignas K. Skrupskelis and Elizabeth M. Berkeley

This eighth volume of a projected twelve continues the series of William James's correspondence with family, friends, and colleagues, which was begun in volume 4 of the Correspondence. The eight volume contains some 530 letters, with an additional 620 letters calendared, thus giving a complete... More


The Correspondence of William James

William James. Edited by Ignas K. Skrupskelis and Elizabeth M. Berkeley

The chief event of the period is the publication of the long-awaited Principles of Psychology, which produced congratulatory and critical letters from Oliver Wendell Holmes, Christine Ladd Franklin, Shadworth Hollway Santayana, James Mark Baldwin, and others. James also devoted much effort to... More


The Correspondence of William James

William James. Edited by Ignas K. Skrupskelis and Elizabeth M. Berkeley

After years of procrastination and false starts, James finally completed most of the work during this peroid on a book destined to become a classic in its field: The Principles of Psychology. He continues his dialogue with established correspondents onf the psychological and philosophical issues of... More


An American Homeplace

Donald McCaig

In the tradition of Wendell Berry and John McPhee, Donald McCaig wites with a powerful sense of place, and of history of Virginia's Highland County, in An American Homeplace. On the fast track in the New York advertising world, McCaig gave it all up to move to a ramshackle farm in Virginia's upper... More


Pages