You are here

Literary and Cultural Studies


Story Line
Exploring the Literature of the Appalachian Trail Ian Marshall

Many hikers on the Appalachian Trail take books as companions, in spite of the extra weight in their packs, but Ian Marshall carries the habit to new literary, ecological, and spiritual heights. In the more than twenty years he's been hiking the trail, Marshall, known on the AT as Evergreen, has... More


Haunted Bodies
Gender and Southern Texts Anne Goodwyn Jones and Susan V. Donaldson, eds.

In Haunted Bodies, Anne Goodwyn Jones and Susan V. Donaldson have brought together some of our most highly regarded southern historians and literary critics to consider race, gender, and texts through three centuries and from a wealth of vantage points. Works as diversive as eighteenth-century... More


Writing and Postcolonialism in the Early Republic
Edward Watts

Writing and Postcolonialism in the Early Republic is the first book-length analysis of early American literature through the lens of postcolonial theory. Although the United States represented a colonizing presence that displaced indigenous peoples and exported imperial culture, American colonists... More


The Genius of John Ruskin
Selections from His Writings John D. Rosenberg. Foreword by Herber F. Tucker

No figure among the Victorians surpasses John Ruskin in magnitude of genius, modernity of message, or mastery of prose. Yet for the first half-century after his death in 1900, his genius lay largely undiscovered. First published in 1963, John D. Rosenberg's The Genius of John Ruskin aimed to make... More


The Correspondence of William James
William and Henry 1885-1889 William James. Edited by Ignas K. Skrupskelis and Elizabeth M. Berkeley

After years of procrastination and false starts, James finally completed most of the work during this peroid on a book destined to become a classic in its field: The Principles of Psychology. He continues his dialogue with established correspondents onf the psychological and philosophical issues of... More


Auden and Documentary in the 1930s
Marsha Bryant

W.H. Auden established his literary reputation in a decade framed by economic depression and global war. He emerged as the defining literary voice of the 1930s while the documentary genre emerged as the decade's principal discourse of social reality. In Auden and Documentary in the 1930s, Marsha... More


The Shad Treatment
Garrett Epps. Foreword by Paul M. Gaston

[Book description not available]


An American Homeplace
Donald McCaig

In the tradition of Wendell Berry and John McPhee, Donald McCaig wites with a powerful sense of place, and of history of Virginia's Highland County, in An American Homeplace. On the fast track in the New York advertising world, McCaig gave it all up to move to a ramshackle farm in Virginia's upper... More


Writing Home
American Women Abroad, 1830–1920 Mary Suzanne Schriber

In Writing Home, Mary Suzanne Schriber offers the first comprehensive analysis of the large body of U.S. women's travel literature written betwen the pre-Civil War years and World War I. Examining almost a century's worth of published book-length accounts, ranging from travel diaries of ordinary... More


The Limits of Hope
An Adoptive Mother's Story Ann Kimble Loux

"Adopting a child is an act of love. When that child is no longer an infant but has a history of abuse and neglect, integrating it into an existing family is a challenge. Loux tells the story of her family's decision to adopt two sisters removed from their alcoholic biological mother. The adoption... More


The Correspondence of William James
William and Henry 1878-1884 William James. Edited by Ignas K. Skrupskelis and Elizabeth M. Berkeley

This volume charts James's emergence into professional and personal maturity while chronicling the decisive steps he took toward resolving his notoriously protracted and difficult search for a profession. He published his first substantial signed articles and also undertook some shrewd academic... More


Rational Meaning
A New Foundation for the Definition of Words and Supplementary Essays Laura Jackson and Schuyler B. Jackson

Existing only in manuscript since the 1940s but enjoying an underground reputation among friends and advocates, this primary document by one of the most original and influential of American poets and thinkers is now being published as Rational Meaning, Laura (Riding) Jackson's testament of the... More


Subject to Negotiation
Reading Feminist Criticism and American Women's Fictions Elaine Neil Orr

In Subject to Negotiation, Elaine Neil Orr proposes negotiation as both a state of consciousness and a significant movement for women writers as well as feminist critics. Challenging the "subversive" model of feminist criticism, she argues for the importance of negotiation for feminist practice... More


William and Henry James
Selected Letters William James. Edited by Ignas K. Skrupskelis and Elizabeth M. Berkeley. Introduction by John J. McDermott

William and Henry James are well known for their master works of psychology and fiction respectively, but the celebrated brothers amassed an impressive collection of letters to one another as well. Through their copious correspondence, readers are privy to the private thoughts of these intellectual... More


Blacks in Eden
The African American Novel's First Century J. Lee Greene

This work examines African-American fiction, discussing how African-American novelists worked with the same mythic materials as their white counterparts, but inverted Anglo-American constructions. Relating the novel to history, it shows how they refuted Anglo-Americans' record of history.


Lost Saints
Silence, Gender, and Victorian Literary Canonization Tricia A. Lootens

In Lost Saints Tricia Lootens argues that parallels betwee literary and religious canons are far deeper than has yet been realized. She presents the ideological underpinnings of Victorian literary canonization and the general processes by which it occurred and discloses the unacknowledged traces of... More


Cleanth Brooks and the Rise of Modern Criticism
Mark Royden Winchell

[Book description not available]


The Medievalist Impulse in American Literature
Twain, Adams, Fitzgerald, and Hemingway Kim Moreland

Why has the medievalist impulse- as manifested in an attraction to the traditions of courtly love and chivalry- been ignored or marginalized in the context of American literature, especially given its prominence in studies of British literature? Kim Moreland sets out to answer this and other... More


Louisa S McCord
Poems, Drama, Biography, Letters Richard C. Lounsbury, ed.

Louisa Susanna Cheves McCord (1810-1879) was one of the most remarkable figures in the intellectual history of antebellum America. A conservative intellectual, she broke the confines of Southern gender roles. Over the past decade historians have begun to pay attention to McCord and find her... More


The Correspondence of William James
William and Henry 1856-1877 William James. Edited by Ignas K. Skrupskelis and Elizabeth M. Berkeley

This volume begins a new series: William James's correspondence with family, friends, and colleagues, starting when William James was fourteen and on his second trip abroad and concluding when he was thirty-five, negotiating with the president of Johns Hopkins University about a course he had been... More


Periodical Literature in Nineteenth-Century America
Kenneth M. Price and Susan Belasco Smith

Covering the decades from the 1830s through the end of the century, as well as the eastern, southern, and western regions of the United States, these essays, by a diverse group of scholars, examine a variety of periodicals from the well-known Atlantic Monthly to small papers such as The National... More


Civilization and Black Progress
Selected Writings of Alexander Crummell on the South J. R. Oldfield, ed.

Founder of the American Negro Academy, Alexander Crummell (1819–1898) played a pivotal role in later nineteenth-century debates over race and black intellect. Yet compared with the work of Du Bois and Washington, his speeches and publications have remained relatively inaccessible until now. Here... More


Toward Wholeness in Paule Marshall's Fiction
Joyce Pettis

Internationally known and long praised by contemporary African-American novelists, Paule Marshall is now being recognized as a major American writer. This first book-length treatment of Marshall's work is both an examination of her writing and its place in the tradition of African-American women's... More


Louisa S. McCord
Political and Social Essays Richard C. Lounsbury, ed.

Louisa Susanna McCrod (1810-1879) was one of the most remarkable figures in the intellectual history of antebellum America. A conservative intellectual, she broke the confines of Southern gender roles; she supported laissez-faire political economy and slavery, argues for woman's separate sphere,... More


The Politics of Color in the Fiction of Jessie Fauset and Nella Larsen
Jacquelyn Y. Mclendon

McLendon shows how the nineteenth-century stereotype of the tragic mulatto as invented by white writers became both a political tool and an artistic device in the capable hands of Jessie Fauset and Nella Larsen. Using black female protagonists who often passed as whites, Fauset and Larsen showed... More


Pages