You are here

Search Results

Filter by Type

Filter by category:

Filter by Subject

Filter by Series

Paper Gardens
Paper Gardens

A Stroll through French Literature

Bloch-Dano, Evelyne

From Jean-Jacques Rousseau to Marcel Proust, from Marguerite Duras to George Sand, from Colette to Patrick Modiano, gardens appear in novels as representations of the real...


Citoyennes

Women and the Ideal of Citizenship in EighteenthCentury France

Smart, Annie

[Book description not available]


The Algerian New Novel
The Algerian New Novel

The Poetics of a Modern Nation, 1950-1979

Orlando, Valérie K.

Disputing the claim that Algerian writing during the struggle against French colonial rule dealt almost exclusively with revolutionary themes, The Algerian New Novel...


Empiricist Devotions
Empiricist Devotions

Science, Religion, and Poetry in Early Eighteenth-Century England

Smith, Courtney Weiss

Featuring a moment in late seventeenth- and early eighteenth-century England before the disciplinary divisions that we inherit today were established, Empiricist Devotions...


Journal of a Residence in Chile during the Year 1822, and a Voyage from Chile to Brazil
Journal of a Residence in Chile during the Year 1822, and a Voyage from Chile to Brazil
Graham, Maria, Hayward, Jennifer

In 1821, Maria Dundas Graham sailed for South America on H.M.S. Doris, a ship sent to protect British mercantile interests in that volatile region. After her husband, the ship’...


The Book of Numbers
The Book of Numbers
Pharr, Robert Deane

In the hardboiled tradition of Chester Himes and Walter Mosely, Robert Deane Pharr's novel tells the tale of two black men, Dave and Blueboy, traveling waiters who establish...


An American Homeplace
An American Homeplace
McCaig, Donald

In the tradition of Wendell Berry and John McPhee, Donald McCaig wites with a powerful sense of place, and of history of Virginia's Highland County, in An American Homeplace....


Nietzsche and The Feminine
Nietzsche and The Feminine
Burgard, Peter J.

In this innovative and wide-ranging volume, Peter Burgard has brought together new studies by outstanding scholars in philosophy, feminism, comparative literature, and German...


Writing Home
Writing Home

American Women Abroad, 1830–1920

Schriber, Mary Suzanne

In Writing Home, Mary Suzanne Schriber offers the first comprehensive analysis of the large body of U.S. women's travel literature written betwen the pre-Civil War years and...


The Theatre of Death

Rituals of Justice from the English Civil Wars to the Restoration

Klemp, P. J.

[Book description not available]


Afro-Creole Poetry in French from Louisiana's Radical Civil War-Era Newspapers
Afro-Creole Poetry in French from Louisiana's Radical Civil War-Era Newspapers

A Bilingual Edition

Bruce, Clint

Collected here for the first time, seventy-nine poems published in the Civil War–era Afro-Creole New Orleans newspapers L’Union and La Tribune—most unavailable...


Randall Jarrell's Letters
Randall Jarrell's Letters

An Autobiographical and Literary Selection

Jarrell, Mary

In this expanded edition of Randall Jarrell's letters, his widow, Mary, has added letters from Jarrell to Peter Taylor, publication of which was withheld during Taylor's...


The Bourgeois Interior
The Bourgeois Interior
Brown, Julia Prewitt

From Robinson Crusoe’s cave to Henry Selwyn’s hermitage, the domestic interior tells a story about "things" and their relation to character and identity. Beginning with a...


The Romance of Authenticity
The Romance of Authenticity

The Cultural Politics of Regional and Ethnic Literatures

Karem, Frederick J.

To what extent has the growing popular demand for a vicarious experience of other cultures fueled the expectation that the most important task for regional and ethnic writers...


Going by Contraries
Going by Contraries

Robert Frost's Conflict with Science

Hass, Robert Bernard

One of the most vexing problems facing American modernist poets was how to find a place for poetry and religion in a culture that considered science its most reliable source of...


Ruskin's Culture Wars
Ruskin's Culture Wars

Fors Clavigera and the Crisis of Victorian Liberalism

Stoddart, Judith

"When I consider the quantity of wise talking which has passed in at one long ear of the world, and out at the other, without making the smallest impression upon its mind, I am...


Shaken Wisdom
Shaken Wisdom

Irony and Meaning in Postcolonial African Fiction

Onyeoziri, Gloria Nne

In her focus on irony and meaning in postcolonial African fiction, Gloria Nne Onyeoziri refers to an internal subversion of the discourse of the wise and the powerful, a...


The Knowing Most Worth Doing
The Knowing Most Worth Doing

Essays on Pluralism, Ethics, and Religion

Booth, Wayne, Jost, Walter

Throughout the second half of the twentieth century until his death in 2005, Wayne Booth was one of the most influential literary critics in America and beyond, known worldwide...


The Providence of Wit
The Providence of Wit

Aspects of Form in Augustan Literature and the Arts

Battestin, Martin C.

By exploring the relationship between the idea of Nature and the idea of Art in the period from 1660-1760, this study attempts to account for the distinctive quality of the '...


The Blood of Paradise
The Blood of Paradise
Goodwin, Stephen

Stephen Goodwin's second novel is an emblematic tale of the sixties, of a sophisticated couple going back to the land. The restlessness that compels Anna and Steadman to move...


A Blue Moon in Poorwater
A Blue Moon in Poorwater
Hankla, Cathryn

Cathryn Hankla's first novel is an engaging coming-of-age story set in the small Appalachian mining town of Poorwater, Virginia. It is the summer of 1968, and the narrator,...


The Dynamics of Genre
The Dynamics of Genre

Journalism and the Practice of Literature in Mid-Victorian Britain

Liddle, Dallas

Newspapers, magazines, and other periodicals reached a peak of cultural influence and financial success in Britain in the 1850s and 1860s, out-publishing and out-selling books...


A World of Disorderly Notions
A World of Disorderly Notions

Quixote and the Logic of Exceptionalism

Hanlon, Aaron R.

Shortlisted for the Kenshur Prize for Best Book in Eighteenth-Century Studies from the Indiana University Center for Eighteenth-Century Studies

From Jonathan...


Studies in Bibliography, Volume 59

Papers of the Bibliographical Society of the University of Virginia

Vander Meulen, David L.

The fifty-ninth volume of Studies in Bibliography continues its tradition of presenting a wide range of articles by international scholars on bibliography, textual...


Frances Power Cobbe
Frances Power Cobbe

Victorian Feminist, Journalist, Reformer

Mitchell, Sally

Frances Power Cobbe (1822–1904) is the most important nineteenth-century British writer and activist not heretofore treated in a full-length biography. An independent...


Pages