You are here

Search Results

The Correspondence of William James
The Correspondence of William James

William and Henry 1890-1894

James, William, Skrupskelis, Ignas K., Berkeley, Elizabeth M.

The chief event of the period is the publication of the long-awaited Principles of Psychology, which produced congratulatory and critical letters from Oliver Wendell Holmes,...


William and Henry James
William and Henry James

Selected Letters

James, William, Skrupskelis, Ignas K., Berkeley, Elizabeth M.

William and Henry James are well known for their master works of psychology and fiction respectively, but the celebrated brothers amassed an impressive collection of letters to...


Journal of Emily Shore
Journal of Emily Shore
Gates, Barbara Timm

Emily Shore's journal is the unique self-representation of a prodigious young Victorian woman. From July 5, 1831, at the age of eleven, until June 24, 1839, two weeks before...


Steinbeck in Vietnam
Steinbeck in Vietnam

Dispatches from the War

Steinbeck, John, Barden, Thomas E.

Although his career continued for almost three decades after the 1939 publication of The Grapes of Wrath, John Steinbeck is still most closely associated with his Depression-...


Beyond the Moulin Rouge
Beyond the Moulin Rouge

The Life and Legacy of La Goulue

Visconti, Will

Best known by her stage name, La Goulue (the Glutton), Louise Weber was one of the biggest stars of fin de siècle Paris, renowned as a cancan dancer at the Moulin Rouge. The...


The Correspondence of William James
The Correspondence of William James

William and Henry 1897-1910

James, William, Skrupskelis, Ignas K., Berkeley, Elizabeth M.

The third and final volume of the correspondence between William and Henry James begins in 1897 and concludes with William's death in 1910.


Faulkner in the University, Introduction by Douglas Day
Faulkner in the University, Introduction by Douglas Day
Gwynn, Frederick L., Blotner, Joseph L.

In 1957 and 1958 William Faulkner was Writer-in-Residence at the University of Virginia. During that time he held thirty-seven conferences and answered two thousand questions...


Resurrections
Resurrections

Authors, Heroes—and a Spy

Meyers, Jeffrey

Jeffrey Meyers’ Resurrections: Authors, Heroes—and a Spy brings to life a set of extraordinary writers, painters, and literary adventurers who turned their lives into...


An American Homeplace
An American Homeplace
McCaig, Donald

In the tradition of Wendell Berry and John McPhee, Donald McCaig wites with a powerful sense of place, and of history of Virginia's Highland County, in An American Homeplace....


James Madison
James Madison

A Biography

Ketcham, Ralph

The best one volume biography of Madison’s life, Ketcham’s biography not only traces Madison’s career, it gives readers a sense of the man. As Madison said of his early years...


Beloved Boy
Beloved Boy

Letters to Hendrik C. Andersen, 1899–1915

Zorzi, Rosella Mamoli

Already the subject of articles in the International Herald Tribune and the London Times, Beloved Boy is a remarkable collection of letters tracing Henry James’s...


Nature Cure
Nature Cure
Mabey, Richard

Early in Nature Cure Richard Mabey returns continually to the swift, who in its spectacular migration may not touch down for well over a year. In Ted Hughes’s phrase,...


The Correspondence of William James
The Correspondence of William James

William and Henry: 1895-1899

James, William, Skrupskelis, Ignas K., Berkeley, Elizabeth M.

This eighth volume of a projected twelve continues the series of William James's correspondence with family, friends, and colleagues, which was begun in volume 4 of the...


Perfect Companionship
Perfect Companionship

Ellen Glasgow's Selected Correspondence with Women

Glasgow, Ellen, Matthews, Pamela R.

The novels of Pulitzer Prize-winning author Ellen Glasgow ushered the South into the modern era, rejecting the typically romanticized approach for a cunningly observed realism...


The Correspondence of William James
The Correspondence of William James

William and Henry April 1905 - March 1908

James, William, Skrupskelis, Ignas K., Berkeley, Elizabeth M.

This eleventh volume of a projected twelve continues the series of William James’s correspondence with family, friends, and colleagues that began with volume 4. Consisting of...


Living on Wilderness Time
Living on Wilderness Time
Walker, Melissa

Melissa Walker set out on a journey that many women of her generation have mapped only in their dreams. Like many American chroniclers before her who have surrendered to the...


You Come Too
You Come Too

My Journey with Robert Frost

Francis, Lesley Lee

Robert Frost observed in his wife, Elinor, a desire to live "a life that goes rather poetically." The same could be said of many members of the Frost family, over several...


The Correspondence of William James
The Correspondence of William James

William and Henry 1885-1896

James, William, Skrupskelis, Ignas K., Berkeley, Elizabeth M.

The second volume of letters between William and Henry James covers 1885-1896.


The Limits of Hope
The Limits of Hope

An Adoptive Mother's Story

Loux, Ann Kimble

"Adopting a child is an act of love. When that child is no longer an infant but has a history of abuse and neglect, integrating it into an existing family is a challenge. Loux...


The Correspondence of William James
The Correspondence of William James

William and Henry July 1899-1901

James, William, Skrupskelis, Ignas K., Berkeley, Elizabeth M.

This ninth volume of a projected twelve continues the series of William James's correspondence with family, friends, and colleagues that was begun in Volume 4. Consisting of...


Journal of a Residence in Chile during the Year 1822, and a Voyage from Chile to Brazil
Journal of a Residence in Chile during the Year 1822, and a Voyage from Chile to Brazil
Graham, Maria, Hayward, Jennifer

In 1821, Maria Dundas Graham sailed for South America on H.M.S. Doris, a ship sent to protect British mercantile interests in that volatile region. After her husband, the ship’...


1930
1930

The First Automobile Trip in North America, from Manhattan to Managua

Lyon, Arthur, Lyon, Larry

Imagine setting out on a road trip in a 1929 Ford Model A Roadster, with the stated goal of traveling from Manhattan to Mexico and Central America, after only a week’s worth of...


Randall Jarrell's Letters
Randall Jarrell's Letters

An Autobiographical and Literary Selection

Jarrell, Mary

In this expanded edition of Randall Jarrell's letters, his widow, Mary, has added letters from Jarrell to Peter Taylor, publication of which was withheld during Taylor's...


A Small Boy and Others
A Small Boy and Others

A Critical Edition

James, Henry, Collister, Peter

Henry James was the final survivor of a remarkable family, and his memoir, written at the end of a long and tireless career, was prompted initially by the death of his "ideal...


Limited Choices
Limited Choices

Mable Jones, a Black Children's Nurse in a Northern White Household

Abel, Emily K., Nelson, Margaret K.

When interviewed by the Charlottesville, Virginia, Ridge Street Oral History Project, which documented the lives of Black residents in the 1990s, Mable Jones described herself...


Pages